This is a temple of the Myōshin-ji school of the Rinzai branch of Zen Buddhism. Originally a country house of the Tokudaiji clan, it was acquired in 1450 by Hosokawa Katsumoto for use as a Zen training temple. It was destroyed by fire during the Onin war and was rebuilt in 1499. Toyotomi Hideyoshi and Tokugawa later expanded the temple precincts. At its peak, it encompassed more than 23 sub-temples. The Hojo Garden is famous for its traditional dry landscape rock garden. The 15 rocks arranged on a surface of white pebbles in a rectangular site symbolically represents nature, yet the garden contains neither a single tree not blade of grass. It is also known as the “Baby Tiger Crossing” because it resembles a tiger crossing a mountain stream with its cub. To the east of the hojo is a stone bowl for hand washing, donated by Mito Mitsukuni, bearing the inscription “Ware tada taro shireu” (“Freedom from greed ensures a peaceful life”). Moreover, the temple holds 12 volumes of Taiheki, (“Record of the Great Peace”) as one of its treasures.