Enkō-ji (圓光寺), the name of which formally has the prefix Zuigenzan, belongs to the Nanzenji group of the Rinzai sect. This temple originated from a school which was built in Fushimi in the southern part of Kyoto by shogun Tokugawa Ieyasu in 1601, and the priest Sanyo Genkitsu, who had been the 9th principal of the Ashikaga school, was invited as the principal of this temple. The temple was set to this ground by the order of the Tokugawa shogunate in 1667. Ieyasu ordered priests and samurais to learn Confucianism in this temple, gave them 100.000 wooden printing types, and let them publish a large number of publications. Many of the oldest wooden printing types used at that time are preserved as an important cultural property in the temple. A sedentary statue of One-Thousand-hand Goddess of Mercy, as the principal image, is installed in the main hall. The main hall keeps a folding screen of bamboo trees painted by Maruyama Okyo, which is also an important cultural property, and a portrait of the priest Genkitsu. The temple’s garden called “Jugyu no Niwa”, which has the Seiryu Pond and Suikinhutsu ( a ceramic pot under the ground producing a delicate natural sound), is famous for its colorful leaves in autumn.