Otagi Nenbutsu-ji (愛宕念仏寺) is a Buddhist temple in the Arashiyama neighborhood of Kyoto, Japan. Otagi Nenbutsu-ji was founded by Empress Shōtoku in the middle of the eighth century. It was destroyed by the flooding of the Kamo River, and was rebuilt as an offshoot of Enryaku-ji, a nearby temple. In the 13th century, it was again destroyed during a civil war. The temple was moved to its current location in 1922, later suffering typhoon damage in 1950. The gate of the temple contains two fierce-looking Nio statues. Inside the temple are more than 1200 rakan, stone statues representing the disciples of Buddha. These statues, in keeping with rakan traditions, are generally humorous and kawaii. The rakan ('enlightened beings'), were the original disciples of the historical Buddha and possessors of supernatural power and the wisdom of Buddha. The sculptures were donated in 1981 in honor of the refurbishment of the temple. Most were carved by amateurs, taught by sculptor Kocho Nishimura.